Saying Goodbye to my Sixth Graders

Yesterday I said goodbye to the 31 sixth graders I’ve been teaching for the last three months. It was hard for me to leave the school knowing there is very little chance I will be back again.

We had a good time celebrating all that we had learned over our months together. I was thrilled to see that all of them remembered how to introduce themselves to the friend I brought with me without any prompting from me! They each stood up and proudly said, “My name is _____.” It took me so much effort to get them to speak English at the beginning (especially to speak English in more than a whisper!) Then I shared some gingerbread cookies and talked a little about the tradition of decorating gingerbread men for Christmas.¬†We ended the class period by singing “Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes”, doing the “Hokey-Pokey” and playing “Duck, Duck, Goose!” It was a lot of fun! Man I’m going to miss those goofballs!

I will post a few pictures (password protected because I don’t know what the privacy policies are in Nicaragua–though I kind of doubt they exist–just to be on the safe side. If you know me, then you can see them. The password is my dog’s name.)

One thought on “Saying Goodbye to my Sixth Graders”

  1. Who knew that knowing your dog’s name would bring good things! ha.
    What a fun way to end your time with the kids and it sounds like you really made a difference. Very exciting.

Leave a Reply

